Texas Network for School Improvement Collaborative

As an inaugural recipient of a Networks for School Improvement (NSI) grant in Fall 2018, Educate Texas, in partnership with Learning Forward and the Charles A. Dana Center at The University of Texas at Austin (the Dana Center), established the first-ever Texas Network for School Improvement Collaborative (TXNSI Collaborative) to equip and implement targeted interventions and improvements among low-income and minority students at 10 North Texas schools. After a rigorous vetting process,  the partnership was selected to receive the one-year, $500,000 grant from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and charged with increasing a key indicator in students’ future success: 8th grade math proficiency.

The TXNSI Collaborative is now one of 21 networks in 13 states using continuous improvement methods to change middle school and high school outcomes – a total of $92 million in grants from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

The three-part team of Educate Texas, Learning Forward and The Dana Center joined forces to leverage each organization’s unique strengths as a collective in service of increasing 8th grade math proficiency, specifically:
  • Educate Texas – recognized for creating large-scale educational change across Texas; serves as the lead network developer responsible for identifying the network of schools, coordinating network communication and convenings, and providing data analysis.
  • Learning Forward – focused on building education leaders’ capacity to establish and sustain effective professional learning; brings its expertise in continuous improvement to the project to implement improvement science concepts to advance schools’ progress toward identified goals
  • The Dana Center – lauded for K-12 and postsecondary mathematics instruction, policy, and research; acts as the subject matter experts in math education and student success.
This effort aims to show measurable change in 8th grade math outcomes over the course of a year, building on Educate Texas’ overarching efforts to enhance key transition points in a student’s educational journey to ultimately increase the number of students who pursue postsecondary education after high school.

The chosen districts include Duncanville ISD, Crowley ISD and Lancaster ISD Within those districts, 7 middle school campuses are participating in the program:

• Duncanville ISD – Byrd Middle School, Kennemer Middle School, Reed Middle School
• Crowley ISD – Crowley Middle School, HF Stevens Middle School, Summer Creek Middle School
• Lancaster ISD – Elsie Robertson Middle School

Press Tools