The Texas Urban Council of Superintendents is the pre-eminent voice for traditional urban public schools. The Council meets regularly, focusing on governmental relations, governance, school turnaround, leadership development, human capital management, college access for urban youth, second language learning and many other shared interests. Member districts are unique because their students not only face issues related to generational poverty but, as mostly namesake districts, they also deal with significant media scrutiny.

In 1970-71, the superintendents and board presidents of the Dallas ISD and Fort Worth ISD first met to create the Texas Urban Council of Superintendents. In 1971, the inaugural meeting was held in Fort Worth. The charter members were Houston, Dallas, Fort Worth, San Antonio, Austin, El Paso, and Corpus Christi. At the time, they were known as the Big 7. By the 1990’s, Ysleta had joined the group, Aldine joined during the 2000s, and Brownsville joined in 2019.

All superintendents have been members of the Texas Association of School Administrators, and virtually all of the Texas Urban Council of Superintendents member districts have also joined the Texas School Alliance, formed for larger school districts across the state. However, the formation of the Texas Urban Council of Superintendents meets the unique needs of its members in maintaining an urban perspective. At times, The Council has been dormant, though it has always maintained its identity.

Member Districts
Aldine ISD
Austin ISD
Brownsville ISD
Corpus Christi ISD
Dallas ISD
El Paso ISD 
Fort Worth ISD
Houston ISD 
San Antonio ISD
Ysleta ISD

Texas Urban Council Leadership

Texas Urban Council Chair
Dr. Kent Scribner Fort Worth ISD
Texas Urban Council Chair Elect and Co-Legislative Chair
Dr. LaTonya Goffney Aldine ISD
Texas Urban Council Co-Legislative Chair
Dr. Michael Hinojosa Dallas ISD