Leadership Council

Advisory Council 

The Texas College Access Network (TxCAN) is supported by an Advisory Council that provides directional guidance to the Network’s backbone team. The Council includes more than 20 members representing the diverse mix of state agency leaders, statewide college access funders, regional college access backbone leaders, and non-profit leaders.

Council Member Leadership 



Jerel Booker
Assistant Commissioner for College Readiness and Success, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

Gilbert Zavala
Vice President of Education and Talent Development, Austin Chamber of Commerce


Chair Elects

Leslie Gurrola
Director of Programs and Strategy, Greater Texas Foundation

Claudette Jenks
Director of College Readiness and Success, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

Council Member Organizations

Café College San Antonio 
Dallas County Promise
National College Attainment Network

Texas A&M AgriLife Extension
Texas Association of Community Colleges

Greater Texas Foundation 
Powell Foundation
Michael & Susan Dell Foundation
Rainwater Charitable Foundation (T3) 
Trellis Foundation 

College Forward
The Commit Partnership
Good Reason Houston
Reach Higher Texas
United for College Success – KIPP
UP Partnership

Austin Chamber of Commerce

Educational Service Center (ESC) Region 19

Texas Education Agency
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Texas OnCourse
Texas Workforce Commission